Contract testing: Should or shouldn't?

In teams quite often happens that the API changes and breaks other services, tests, UI. At the same time, everyone uses Swagger, go to meetings and agree on everything. But still, something is breaking.

What are the ways to solve the synchronization problem and API changes? This talk will consider approaches to writing contract tests on Spring Cloud Contract, Pact and even using binary protocols. If you are familiar with contract testing but have used one of the above tools, or if you know nothing about contract testing but face the same problems then after the talk you will definitely know more about possible solutions, and how much they are "expensive".

Smoothie

ru

About the talk

Speaker

Vsevolod Brekelov

Vsevolod Brekelov

JUG Ru Group

Vsevolod has more than 10 years in IT industry. He tried his hands at different roles and directions. He worked with automated testing, fullstack development in different languages. Some time ago he lived in California and worked under contract at Google. Managed to work with various clients from financial sector. Worked at NEO SPCC startup where he was developing on Go.

Read more

Invited Experts

Vladimir Plizga

Vladimir Plizga

СFT

Since his school days Vladimir was enthusiastic about programming and from then on has managed to code everything: from Soviet programmable calculators to modern CNC tools in production. For the last 8+ years he has been involved in Java backend development of Internet banking at CFT (Center of Financial Technologies). Constantly bothers with ideas about optimization of day-to-day tasks in software development and testing, nurtures solutions for them while jogging or swimming and then puts them into life, experimenting shamelessly on his colleagues. Periodically writes articles and makes talks on Java as well as takes part in organizing SnowOne – Siberian community-driven Java conference.

Read more
Alexei Vinogradov

Alexei Vinogradov

Vinogradov IT-Beratung

Alexei has been working in various IT projects in Germany for more than 20 years. He consults about testing and test automatio. Evangelist of Selenide. Introduced Pact Testing and survived it. The founder and moderator of Radio QA podcast.

Read more

Contract testing: Should or shouldn't?

Довольно часто случается в командах, что изменяется API и ломает другие сервисы, тесты, UI. При этом все используют Swagger, ходят на митинги и договариваются обо всем. Но все же что-то ломается.

Какие есть способы решения проблемы синхронизации и изменений API? В докладе будут рассмотрены подходы написания контрактных тестов на Spring Cloud Contract, Pact, и даже использования бинарных протоколов. Если вы знакомы с контрактным тестированием, но использовали один из вышеуказанных инструментов, или вы ничего не знаете про контрактное тестирование, но сталкиваетесь с похожими проблемами, то определенно после доклада вы будете больше знать о возможных путях решения, а также насколько они «дорогие».

Smoothie

ru

О докладе

Спикер

Всеволод Брекелов

Всеволод Брекелов

JUG Ru Group

Более 10 лет в ИТ. Попробовал себя в разных ролях и направлениях. Занимался автоматизированным тестированием, фулстэк разработкой на различных языках. Какое-то время жил в Калифорнии и работал по контракту в Google. Успел поработать с различными клиентами из финансовой сферы. Работал в стартапе NEO SPCC, где занимался разработкой на Go.

Подробнее

Приглашённые эксперты

Владимир Плизга

Владимир Плизга

ЦФТ

Владимир со школьной скамьи увлечён программированием и с тех пор успел покодировать на многом: от советских программируемых калькуляторов до современных станков с ЧПУ. Однако последние 8+ лет погружен в разработку бэкенда на Java для интернет-банков в ЦФТ (преимущественно на Spring). Регулярно заморачивается идеями оптимизации повседневных задач разработки/тестирования бэкенда, вынашивает для них решения на пробежках и в бассейне, а затем воплощает в жизнь, бессовестно испытывая на собственных коллегах. Периодически пишет статьи и выступает с докладами по Java, да и сам причастен к организации сибирской Java-конференции SnowOne.

Подробнее
Алексей Виноградов

Алексей Виноградов

Vinogradov IT-Beratung

Работает в IT-проектах в Германии более 20 лет. Консультирует по вопросам тестирования и автоматизации. Популяризатор библиотеки Selenide. Познал боль внедрения Pact. Основатель и один из ведущих подкаста Radio QA.

Подробнее